2009 South African Longboard Championships

Team Standings
1. Eastern Province 137 780
2. Western Province 121 200
3. Southern Cape 109 290
4. Kwazulu Natal 93 400Open Men
1. Justin Bing (WP)
2. Michael Hill (EP)
3. Dylan McLeod (EP)
4. Ludie du Toit (EP)

Open Women
1. Simone Robb (WP)
2. Michelle Hill (EP)
3. Bianca Buitendag (SC)
4. Roxy Towill (SC)

Eastern Province claim team title at OXBOW South African Longboard Championships in Jeffrey’s Bay

Jeffreys Bay – Sunday 19 April 2009 – Eastern Province clinched the coveted team title at the 2009 OXBOW South African Longboard Championships presented by Malibu which ended in excellent head high waves at The Point on Jeffreys Bay on Saturday.

The team from the host province outpointed defending champions Western Province by a sizeable margin with newcomers Southern Cape in third and KwaZulu-Natal taking fourth overall. While competitors from EP, WP and KZN each won four of the 13 individual titles at stake, the depth of talent in the host’s ranks saw EP provide nearly half of all the finalists to amass the winning team total.

The premier Open Men’s division saw a new champion crowned when Justin Bing (WP), the Junior champion last year, clinched victory over a trio of EP competitors in Michael Hill, 2006 Open champion Dylan McLeod and Ludie du Toit.

Defending champion and two-time ISA World Longboard champion, Matthew Moir (SC), reached the semi-finals before being eliminated from the event despite suffering a stroke earlier this year.

EP’s individual titles were won by Steven Sawyer (Boys) and Phillipa Hill (Senior Women), who both successfully defended their titles from 2008, Greg Smith (Senior Men) and John McLeod (Super Legends).

Along with Justin Bing, WP also produced 2009 SA champions in Simone Robb (Open Women), her husband Alan Robb (Grandmasters) and Mark Hoyle (Veterans) while SA champions from KZN are Scott Lefevre (Juniors), Brad Weare (Masters), Hugh Thompson (Super Vets) and Mike Larmont (Legends).

Southern Cape’s sole individual title went to Bianca Buitendag in the Girls division.

Roger Vuanza who, along with Benjamin de Castro, is from the Palama Metsi Development Surfing Academy, an NPO supported by OXBOW, reached the semifinals of the Junior boys division, finishing equal fifth overall. De Castro advanced to the quarterfinals of the Boys category, ending equal 10th.

The 2009 OXBOW SA Longboard Championships ran from Monday to Saturday, 13-18 April, with the first two days of competition held in Port Elizabeth and the rest of the event run at The Point in Jeffreys Bay, the Mecca of South African surfing.
For more information on the OXBOW SA Longboard Championships contact:David Lipschitz, President: South African Longboard Surfing Association

082 322 1150 / surf@surf.co.za
Lyndal Watt, Oxbow Brand Manager
082 497 8572 / lyndal@oxboworld.co.za


View posts by Roxy
Roxy Davis is proudly 'Capetonian', having grown up in Kommetjie, Cape Town. Roxy has won multiple South African Surfing titles. She is a professional surf coach, business owner, wife and mother with a real zest for life and adventure!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top